4 0
Ziyech named the best player of the year, Dest the biggest talent - All about Ajax

Ziyech named the best player of the year, Dest the biggest talent

4 0
Read Time1 Minute, 46 Second

For the third time in a row, Hakim Ziyech was named the best Ajax-player of the year. Sergiño gino Dest is the new biggest talent of the year after Noussair Mazroaui won it last year.

‘This never gets old, The others should have tried a little harder,’ Ziyech joked about being the first player to win the award three years in a row since its inception in 1993. The award was handed to him by the director of the Ajax supporters association since the fans are who decide who wins the prize.

What especially characterized Ziyech this season, was that he stood up in big games. In the away games against Chelsea and Valencia in the Champions League, he played a big role. ‘That has been an important point this year. But maybe I liked the moment the little boy came running on the pitch during the match versus Lille the best. That was a confirmation to me that it was going in the right direction.’

Talent of the year

Sergiño Dest was named the talent of the year and received the corresponding Marco van Basten award from the coach Erik ten Hag. The award came as a big surprise for Dest: ‘I was just training and I heard that I had to give an interview. I just didn’t know it was about this’, he spoke. ‘I didn’t see this one coming. This gives me the drive to develop myself further.’

Ten Hag also complimented Dest on his award. ‘You arrived like a comet. You played a lot of matches in Ajax 1, including the Champions League. You showed your potential. This is well and truly deserved.’

Previous winners of the ‘player of the year’ award

2020: Hakim Ziyech
2019: Hakim Ziyech
2018: Hakim Ziyech
2017: Davinson Sánchez
2016: Jasper Cillessen
2015: Jasper Cillessen
2014: Lasse Schöne
2013: Daley Blind
2012: Jan Vertonghen
2011: Maarten Stekelenburg
2010: Luis Suarez
2009: Luis Suarez
2008: Maarten Stekelenburg
2007: Wesley Sneijder
2006: Klaas Jan Huntelaar
2005: Nigel de Jong
2004: Maxwell
2003: Cristian Chivu
2002: Rafael van der Vaart
2001: Cristian Chivu
2000: Jesper Gronkjaer
1999: Jari Litmanen
1998: Edwin van der Sar
1997: Ronald de Boer
1996: Marc Overmars
1995: Frank Rijkaard
1994: Jari Litmanen
1993: Dennis Bergkamp

Average Rating

5 Star
4 Star
3 Star
2 Star
1 Star

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.