Strong group of competitors at the Future Cup

Read Time1 Minute, 14 Second

The 11th edition of the ABN AMRO Future Cup will have a very strong group of competitors. Besides Ajax the hosts it will boast FC Barcelona, Juventus, Anderlecht, Benfica, Paris Saint-Germain, Sagan Tosu, and Pachuca. The tournament will be held over Easter weekend; from Saturday, April 11th until Monday the 13th.

The Future Cup is a yearly returning tournament for youth teams under 17. This year will be its eleventh edition. Ajax has been the most successful participant in the tournament, they’ve reached the final nine times and won it five times. The last two years the final has been between Ajax and Juventus. In 2018 Ajax won with 2-0 but last year Juventus got their revenge when they won with 2-1.

If you’re interested in watching some of the worlds biggest talents play, this is definitely the tournament to keep an eye on. Well-known players who have participated in past editions include Matthijs de Ligt, Andre Onana, Mauro Icardi, Marcus Rashford, Trent Alexander-Arnold and Youri Tielemans.

Slim chance for Ajax success

Chances of a sixth victory for Ajax are slim. The under 17’s haven’t been doing well this season and the biggest young talents of Ajax are already playing for higher youth teams. Naci รœnรผvar, Youri Regeer, and Devyne Rensch, by far the best players of their age, all play for either u19 or even Jong Ajax. They’ll probably not feature in the Future Cup.

3 0

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.