Eight Ajax players nominated for UEFA team of the year

Read Time1 Minute, 0 Second

The UEFA released their 50 nominees for the UEFA team of the year through their website and there are no less than 8 (former) Ajax players nominated for this election. André Onana, Daley Blind, Nicolas Tagliafico, Donny van de Beek, Dusan Tadic, and Hakim Ziyech have all been selected. Frenkie de Jong and Matthijs de Ligt, who both left last summer, are also nominated which brings the total on eight players who were part of the Ajax-team in the already historical 2018/2019 season.

Fans have the possibility to chose the UEFA team of the year through the official website by forming a formation and choosing one of the selected players for each position. Together, the eleven players with the most votes will form the UEFA team of the year. The winners will be announced on 9 January 2020.

With 8 nominees Ajax is one of the teams which is represented best.  Only Champions League winner Liverpool had more nominees: 10. It’s the second time in a week that Ajax-players have been chosen for an award. Last week, ESPN communicated that five Ajax players and Erik ten Hag have been chosen for the ESPN 100.

1 0

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.